Posted in Days out, laurasarahdoll

The Oor Wullie Bucket Trail.

Let me start by telling you what exactly it is. It is 55 large statues that are being displayed in and around Dundee. There are also 11 which are touring Scotland plus several smaller ones that are in libraries. The main 55 big statues are what make up the trail and are on display until the 29th August after which they will be auctioned to raise money for The ARCHIE Foundation who help sick children and their families. They hope to raise enough money to build a new twin paediatric operating theatre suite at Tayside Children Hospital. These statues have been very popular with the people of Dundee and even further afield. There have been a couple of incidents where naughty people have damaged them but they have been fixed and relocated if needed.

My daughter has loved looking for these and having her picture taken with most of them. There were a couple that unnerved her but she still obliged in having a picture taken. Each of the Oor Wullie’s has their own name and hopefully I have managed to name them correctly so that as you hover over the image the name will come up.

Myself and Alessa visited every single one but on some occasions we had company or helpers. Golfer Wullie has quite the adventure attached to him. I thought we could walk from Dundee to Carnoustie to see him (which you can) but I took a wrong turn spotted a golf course assumed I was on the right one till a friend who knows the area well read my Facebook status boasting of my plan to walk and asked me where I was long story short I was nowhere near him and she had to collect us and take us there.

The last one we had to collect Silicon tried my patience and won. He had to be move from his original place not sure why but could I find him no I couldn’t so I had texted my sister saying where is he? She also came and acted as our guide.  As it turned out he was less than 100 feet in the opposite direction from where we had started.

I am having all of Alessa’s picture with the put into a photobook for her to keep and remember our adventures from the summer 2016. These summer holidays have flew by and I think it was down to having this to occupy our time. Alessa now has less than a week before she starts school but we have one more outing before then which I hope to do a post on.

Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed seeing each of the statues and Alessa’s many poses.  X

Author:

I am a married SAHM of two from Dundee, Scotland. I am currently trying to lose weight while living with rheumatoid arthritis. My husband and I are ttcing in the hope of having one more baby.

3 thoughts on “The Oor Wullie Bucket Trail.

  1. Wow, what a trail; you obviously had lots of fun getting through it. Your photobook idea is a really lovely one and one I’m sure she’ll cherish for years to come.

Leave a Reply

